Privacy: Make-up for Classes Missed During Vacations #1

Screening Surveillance videos

 Tresdancing film

 For this assignment, I chose to watch “screening surveillance videos” because I lean more towards visuals and films of course. The first video I watched was Tresdancing and it talked about how educational institutions apply new educational technologies that invade the privacy of the students. So, for example, in the video the student had to take an exam using a tracking application that track everything happening around her, then she had to wear glasses that tracked her life all day long. This video triggered me and I immediately remembered the first time I had an exam at university with a lockdown browser that tracked my surroundings and obliged me not to move my eyes at all or else the exam will shut down. I wasn’t aware at that time that this is called privacy invasion; later on, I realized that and the video taught me more about it. I will apply what I learned from the video the next time I take an exam with that lockdown browser. I will talk to my professor and maybe show her the video to let her know how harmful it is. I would like to bring this discussion in class and know what my colleagues think about Respondus lockdown browser that our university use.

Blaxites film

This film is about a girl whose celebratory social media post affects her access to vital medication. In the film, the girl’s doctor was tracking her social media account which is in my point of view a form of privacy invasion. However, the girl itself was aware that the doctor is doing so and she accepted. So, the consent here is present and this shifted the whole situation for me. I learned that consent is vital, people should be warned before we take actions that harm them, and we should read conditions carefully before we accept it. I will apply what I learnt in my real life by reading the conditions and laws well before I sign up any contracts. Also, I won’t trust people who think that they’re protecting me by tracking me. I would like to discuss this point in class; if they would trust people who want to track them and invade their privacy and they claim it is out of love and a way of protection?

A model employee

This film is about a girl who has to wear a tracking wristband in order to keep her job. I learnt that it’s not necessary to track the employees, we can’t fool the systems, and I shouldn’t involve anyone in something harmful as that. I would like to apply what I have learnt in my real life, so I wouldn’t let anyone force me to wear a wristband in order to keep my job. I enjoyed how the girl thought about fooling the system, I would like to talk about this with my class. If the system is already corrupted and unfair.. should we fool it or refuse it from the very beginning?

Frames

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started